The Information Systems Security Monitor _______ /--------\ /--------\ \ /| | | | | \ / | | | | | \ / | | \_______ \_______ | \ | | \ \ | | | | | | | | | | | | | \________/ \________/ | | ------- Dedicated to the pursuit of security awareness............ ================================================================= Volume 2 Number 1 January 1992 ================================================================= ////////////////////// In this Issue \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ One Nerd's Approach to Computer Security What did Clyde say? Digital Signatures Still A Mystery to Many in Government Cyberspace Dear Clyde Computer Speak Virus Fighters \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\////////////////////////////////// ONE NERD'S APPROACH TO COMPUTER SECURITY Hi, my name is Bill Strouse and I'm a NERD (Network Emergency Repair Dude). I've been a Sysop or systems operator now for better than a decade and I've learned a great deal about human nature and security in general. Back in 1980 it dawned on me that if I connected a modem to my computer I could access it from anywhere I happened to be. But I would have to have some sort of security or others would be accessing it, possibly in a destructive way. The solution I decided on was to setup a bulletin board system that used a combination of a unique name and password for each caller to control what that caller had access to. Once I got the system working I found it was a great way to keep in touch with friends that also had modems and an even better way to get answers on technical problems. Plus the latest PD (public domain) software regularly showed up on my hard disk. I publicized the number in electronic lists that were distributed worldwide and was soon getting calls from all over the continent and foreign countries like Sweden, England and Australia. I soon had one of the best collections of PD software in the country and the phone line was in constant use day and night. Along with all the great people I met there were al